Rainstorm

Dedicated to RB for not letting me sleep through the first showers. Thankyou. You inspired this…were it not for your absolute perseverance in keeping me up, I’d have never written my sonnet.

A dark cloak of clouds covers the sky
Hiding the moon and stars from eyes
The loud rumble of thunder fills celestial spaces
And the wind whistles by, stealing all light and
Raindrops form rivulets, trickling down merrily
To caress the heated earth, awaiting release
A brilliant flash of light slashes the sky
And gives but a glimpse of theΒ  mystical, watery scene

I tiptoe onto the terrace, to touch…
To catch the sound of the trickling water
And detect the earth’s hot gritty scents
And feel the tingling breeze touch my skin
And taste the cool drops as they trickle in
And quench the insatiable thirst within.

13 Comments

Filed under Poetry

13 responses to “Rainstorm

  1. DokSaab

    Lovely πŸ™‚
    You know what I miss when it rains now?
    Its those power-less,silent, dark, rainy nights of my childhood, when the only sound we could listen through out, was the loud croaking of toads from the pond nearby, and the pitter-patter of rain drops falling over our tin shed.

  2. dok saabs made me nostalgic… :o) i miss those nights too. n i liked this…especially the last 2 lines. u think about them though … they say a lot.

  3. sprinklesofchatter

    LOL
    Glad you guys like it.
    I’m so astounded that none of you noticed that it’s a sonnet!
    😦

  4. DokSaab

    We couldn’t have missed it’s a sonnet, since you have mentioned at the outset that it’s a sonnet πŸ™‚

  5. sprinklesofchatter

    Yes, but you didn’t mention anything about my attempt to write one.
    (Yes, I AM fishing 100% for a compliment!) πŸ˜€

  6. sprinklesofchatter

    @Coffee Angel
    Hahahaha.
    Pauses.
    Hahahahahaha.
    If you’re an amateur, I haven’t even been born! πŸ˜›

  7. DokSaab

    Well well!
    I am not even a poet !
    You see RB, the beauty of a sonnet can be appreciated only when sung !
    So I hummed and realized that you wrote well πŸ™‚

    Expressing your emotions randomly and calling it a poetry is easy, Writing a structured poetry is a difficult job.
    Well done !

  8. sprinklesofchatter

    Thankyou!

    (After so much fishing, finally) πŸ˜‰

  9. MW Freak

    Its so nice and touching..
    Just gives you that wonderful feeling of rain even when its not πŸ™‚
    Lovely piece πŸ™‚

  10. sprinklesofchatter

    @MW Freak

    LOL..I love your nick. We’re ALL MW freaks! Look out for my post on it. πŸ™‚

  11. MW Freak

    looking forward to it :)!

  12. DokSaab

    First Rainsongstress, then MW Freak,
    you are sure collecting very interesting pseudonyms, Miss Chatters!

Leave a Reply

