Solitude

So I wrote this a while ago and didn’t post it coz I wanted to edit it and make it all perfect. And I realized, in my goal of making it perfect, I’d stopped writing coz it wasn’t getting edited by me. Here is the unedited version. I hope it touches you on some level. 🙂

The vast expanses of open spaces
Is dotted with twinkling lights
And the sinewy gravel road
Speeds past my pensive eyes

Cranking up the radio
To a channel that croons the blues
I feel my shoulders loosen
As my mind wanders alone

Empty spaces, empty places
Feel stifling tonight
This self-inflicted solitude
No longer provides respite

I pull down the window
To loose myself in the swishes of the wind
And it feels like I’m fighting
The cyclone raging within

Barren roads, barren trees
Mirror the bleakness within
Feel like they’re beckoning me
While I’m driving aimlessly

The speeding trucks and cars
All have a destination in mind
As they rush through the journey
Wishing for home all the time

Ramshackle houses, ramshackle stalls
Where the paint is peeling & no one stops
Feel like a portrait of my heart
Where people pass, but never halt

I park on the wayside
And heave a desolate sigh
I know I have to turn back
I dread the long night

Shadowed rooms, & a shadowed bed
That light cannot make bright
Await me at the end of the road
That stretches by my eyes

I stare at the stars up above
Wishing for you by my side
Entwining your fingers in mine
Like you did every other night.

8 Comments

Filed under Poetry, The world around me

8 responses to “Solitude

  1. hmmmmm

    u seriously have lot of thinking power in that peanut size brain of urs 😛 … well written.. 🙂

  2. sprinklesofchatter

    Good Lord!
    You incorrigible little beast!
    Would it kill you to appreciate my poetry without sarcasm? 😛

  3. DokSaab

    Well its the size of heart that matters in poetry, not brain!
    Lovely imagery, Sprinkles. Good to read something from your pen.

  4. sprinklesofchatter

    @DokSaab
    Thankyou 🙂

  5. sprinklesofchatter

    Hahaha 😀
    Me likes you liking me post. 🙂

  6. pooja

    i like….impressive…very infact..:)

  7. sprinklesofchatter

    @Pooja

    Thanks honey. Am glad you liked it 🙂

Leave a Reply

