Musings at almost Midnight…

The biggest frustration gnawing at me incessantly the past few days has been my sheer incompetence at paragraph formations. For a person who has spent the kind of effort and time that I have on this language, it is nothing short of a cruel joke to have to deal with the idea of not being able to form coherent passages. What’s even worse, or rather, what makes me want to kill myself is the fact that people with less than mediocre communication skills seem to be doing just fine. Better than fine actually.

I’m not really arrogant about my language, but yes, it does start to feel like a personal assault when 5 jumbled sentences become an insurmountable hurdle. It’s even more frustrating because just how do you go up to someone and ask them to teach you to form paragraphs? I mean, it’s basic writing 101. Even when we wrote essays on “My favourite pet” in kindergarten, we knew how to go from one point to another.

As if being beyond hope in grammar was not enough, now, I fumble through the most scoring and basic topic in English Usage.

It’s times like these that make me wonder if I’m just fooling myself with wanting to write. If I cannot string together 5 sentences (that too with possible options staring me in the face) will I ever be able to create a story that flows seamlessly from the beginning to the end?

And just how will I crack a CAT paper without being armed with such rudimentary skills?

3 Comments

Filed under Introspective, The CAT Journey

3 responses to “Musings at almost Midnight…

  1. Abhishek

    Well, I am going through the same “CAT” phase myself and I do understand your predicament, but I realized that the paragraph making for this exam especially has got very little to do with how well you know the language. In some cases, it totally negates what you feel is right going by the rules of grammar. What then? Well I myself follow a bunch of rules and look out for some key words to look out for that make the connections…

    Do tell me if you have some suggestions to crack this , yourself 🙂

  2. TheDarkLord

    Please do not beat up the examiner for not giving you the space for turning these para jumbles into passages for writing and finding out the answer! 😛

  3. sprinklesofchatter

    @Abhishek
    It’s comforting to know I’m not alone. I hope you fare better. 🙂

    @DarkLord
    Wait till I get my hands on you.

Leave a Reply

