Midnight Rains

I was going through these numerous blogs on wordpress and quite a few of them were undertaking a task I deem to be challenging. They were going to either “Post everyday 2011” or “Post a week 2011”, yeah you guessed it, one post a day or, if you’re slightly fainthearted, one post per week.

I have to admit, I really wanted to join this. My fingers itched to click on the tag that would officially make me a participant. But then, I waited too long and the moment passed and I didn’t click. Fear over-rode any urge that I felt. And yet, the idea lingered on…like a snowflake preserved in a solution between two acrylic sheets. This idea just wouldn’t let go of me. And so I decided that if, for all of March and this last week of February, if I could post just one post a week, I’d join it officially.

Today, when I paid attention to the day, I realized that it was 9pm Friday. I had 2 days to make this week count. And well, lazy me does not stare at a computer screen on Sundays. And it got me thinking, just what was it that I could write about and not just write about, but actually want to write about?

I didn’t have ideas for poetry.I didn’t want to write prose. What was it in my life this past week that had so consumed me to the extent that I would want to write about it?

I had been reading a book called “The Virtue of Selfishness” but I’d been reading it for almost a month now and it didn’t exactly seem like a new thing. So here was the one idea I had, and it wasn’t new. Was it consuming my days and nights? Nah, that would have to be math. But then, doing math AND talking about it AND now writing about it, that was one too many. And so I decided that I was going to write about the book. But then, the second I got onto Bean (writing software) it started raining… In the middle of the night, 2:56am to be precise, the rain danced on my windowsill.

And as much as I wanted to write about the book, I needed to encapsulate a midnight rain. Now, any of you who’ve been to my blog even once before will realize that I am besotted by the rains. I’m the proverbial “saawan ki andhi” who lives a little more in the moments of rain than she does any other time.

So maybe, I’ll just talk about how it felt to let the raindrops touch my bare skin. How the whole unholy mess of my life just went down the drain. Maybe I’ll even tell you how I brewed a pot of berry infusions and leaving everything aside- the post on the book, the ginormous math book I need to solve, the friends waiting to talk, how I left it all to soak in the atmosphere and resuscitate the bit of me that had been dying.

If I had a choice, I’d be the rains. Falling from the sky with gay abandonment, trickling through every crevice, rushing down unmade paths to reach where I belong.

As for the post on the book, I think I’ll post it by next week. 🙂

5 Comments

Filed under Introspective, Reminiscing, The world around me

5 responses to “Midnight Rains

  1. Ever heard of NaBloPoMo? I am sure you’ll love it! 😀

  2. sprinklesofchatter

    No I haven’t 😦
    What is it all about???

  3. Ah! Quite simple, Post something every day for a month. That’s all you have to do. http://www.nablopomo.com

  4. sprinklesofchatter

    Oooh Rashmi!
    I’m sorta attempting it.
    I am hooked 😀 😀
    Many thanks, hugs and poochies to you!!

  5. Vaibhav

    This posts seems like an elongated version of Twitter.. (even though you’re not on it)

Leave a Reply

