Midnight Movies

If days could have mood swings, then today, my day had quite a few of them. It started on a really happy note. After almost a week of torture, I could walk without flinching. I had a great night’s sleep and nothing untoward happened right up until my tuitions. And the day went bad steadily from there. And by night time, I was ready to just crawl under my blanket and sleep.

And then…my day had another mood swing. Balika Badhu was playing. This is one of my all time favourite movies. There is a certain purity to the love shared by the protagonists. I love their bickering, teasing and the innocence of it all. There is this particular scene where the bride starts crying after her husband yells at her. She’d been teasing him all day, and he had finally lost his temper. Right up to that scene, you’d think that the bride was unaffected by the living arrangement. But the way she cries and the way he consoles her is just so cute. The dialogues are just so real. I’ve seen my parents bicker and fight in exactly the same way. I see my grandmom tell my grandpa off in the same way. I guess, what I’m trying to say is that this movie didn’t gloss over anything. There was no drama. This was real.

For a movie that was made so long ago and one which had really tacky costumes, and a story that’s been done to death; this movie manages to transcend all of that and arrest my attention even though I’ve seen it a million times.

And now, I’m going to leave you with a really nice song for the night. I don’t think there is a nicer way of saying I’ll miss you than when he sings “Tum in sab ko chhod ke kaise kal subah jaogi, mere saath inhe bhi to tum yaad bahot aaogi.” 🙂

1 Comment

Filed under The world around me

One response to “Midnight Movies

  1. Siddharth Rajvanshi

    🙂

Leave a Reply

