By the Riverside

IMG_1343

 

Abandoned
on a forgotten
stretch of land,
I sink into
the murky, silt.

Hidden
amongst the damp,
muck and grime,
I am
resigned – to my fate.

Destined
to go unseen,
unheard
and unknown
to my grave.

Overflowing
with the hope
of a young bride,
I was offered up
as  a sacrifice.

She
floated me
into the river stream
to sink
into the deep .

But,
the waves
did not agree
and pushed me
awry.

Empty,
broken,
dirty.
I am lost,
forgotten, weary.

Bereft
of any hope…
I waste away
in the sand.

Meandering,
trying and inching
through the unyielding land
the river embraces me.

I am returned to my destiny.

6 Comments

Filed under Image Inspired, Poetry, The world around me

6 responses to “By the Riverside

  1. Makes me wonder what it is…very well written!

  2. sprinklesofchatter

    Hi!
    In India, it is a tradition for married women to offer rice, flowers and other items symbolizing a long, happy, married life, to a female deity. The offerings are then offered into a pot and submerged in the holy rivers. It is said that if the offerings reach the deity [get submerged in water] then you’re blessed with marital harmony.

    This poem was inspired by the image you see above it where such a pot doesn’t reach the riverbed below.

    I hope this helps 🙂

    Thanks for liking my work!

  3. really nice. i was about to unsubscribe but a quick read restored the idea why i ever subscribed at the first place. You poems are good, keep them coming.

  4. sprinklesofchatter

    Thank you Asis.

    Unfortunately, life happened and I couldn’t get down to writing for a long time. I am working very hard to change that and write regularly. *Fingers crossed* 🙂

  5. That makes sense! Thank you for the explanation. Very neat tradition. I guess that means it is a sad poem…

  6. sprinklesofchatter

    I’m an optimist and my religion is incredibly ambiguous about deities accepting offerings. I choose to believe that because the river makes its way to the offerings, the bride’s prayers are answered.

    The poem is tinged with sadness but I hope it resonates more for second chances. 🙂

Leave a Reply

